The First Time

Andrew and I did it.  It was last semester in the springtime, I don’t even remember the day.  We were in my on-campus apartment at school.  We had been talking about it for a while since we got back together, and I decided that I was finally ready.  I also felt badly for keeping him waiting for so long.

We hung out for the day, ate dinner together (I think we had butter-chicken), then sat on the couch for a while.  Then we got up, went to my room, and did it.  It hurt so much it took like 10 minutes for him to actually get inside of me.  After he was there it was painful… but nothing too terrible.  It felt amazing to be experiencing something like that with someone, I felt so close to him.  Physically speaking though, I didn’t really enjoy it.

The next day we went for a short hike.  We planned it so that the day after, we’d have all day and the following night to be together.  I was crazy emotional all day long – almost like I was PMSing!  I kind of felt cheated… like this was such a momentous thing for me, and he didn’t really care either way that it had happened.  I was sore, bleeding a little, and tired.  On the way back home, his car broke down and we had to call his mother to come pick us up.  I went home that night, alone.

After that day, we did it about once a week.  Each time it took less and less time for him to get inside of me without it hurting.  I bled for the next 2 or 3 times again.  I wasn’t on birth control (I still am not), but we always use condoms.

One thing you don’t realize in the movies is how technically difficult it is to aim the peg-in-the-hole!  It kept falling out, arms were in the way, legs were cramping, and feet were cold.  I was expecting us to both just lay there while it magically happened and was amazing for everyone.  Nope.

Leave a comment